Great Britain's entry was a reproduction of `The Orangey,' in Kensington Gardens, London, where Queen Victoria was born. The structure was an ideal representation of the Queen Anne style of architecture which was reproduced in a setting of an old English garden. It was 171 x 32 feet in size. The building was dedicated on May 26.
The Great Britain Pavilion was larger than the original with the addition of wings that extended back at both ends.
Inside, the rooms were filled with originals and copies of old furniture, arms and decorations from the time of Queen Elizabeth, Queen Anne and King George, as well as a room fitted with modern furnishings.
In Overlooking the Queen Anne room was an life-sized oval portrait of King Edward the VII in a decoratively carved frame.
Outside, the garden area was enhanced by prominent hedges that gave borders to the distinctly English gardens, showcasing hollyhocks and roses. Junipers and yews,
and other shrubs, were arranged into topiaries to resemble the forms of lions, peacocks and other animals.
After the Fair closed, Washington University used the structure as their Art School. It was later torn down and replaced with a modern building. Yet some of the original fireplaces remain.
Lee Gaskins' AT THE FAIR The 1904 St. Louis World's Fair
Web Design and Art/Illustration copyrighted 2008